Loading articles...

How Canada changed after the 2019 vote

Liberal leader Justin Trudeau waves as he celebrates at Liberal election headquarters in Montreal on Monday Oct. 21, 2019. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick

OTTAWA – During the 2015 election the Liberals took Canada with full force. The movement of ‘vote out Harper’ swept the majority of the country.

Four years and a couple of Liberal scandals later the party has been voted back into office but with fewer seats.

In Alberta and Saskatchewan, voters showed how their displeasure for how Trudeau’s Liberal government was running the country as both provinces voted nearly all Conservative MPs.

One NDP seat held in Edmonton-Strathcona by Heather McPherson was the only dot on the map in the two provinces not held by the Tories.

Two seat changes in Edmonton saw the Minister of Natural Resources, Amarjeet Sohi, and Randy Boissonnault fall. The only other changes in Alberta came in Calgary-Skyview and Calgary-Centre, with Kent Hehr losing to Greg McLean.

READ MORE: Voters weigh in on Trudeau’s second term

To the west in BC, the majority of the interior remained or changed to Conservative, forcing the Liberals to lose Kelowna while and the NDP lost Kootenay-Columbia and Skeena Bulkley Valley.

Vancouver Island remained majority NDP with the Green Party taking two seats. Leader Elizabeth May won her riding once again while Nanaimo-Ladysmith also voted for Green.

Most of the lower mainland stayed Liberal with a few seats moving to the Conservatives and NDP.

In Winnipeg, the Liberals held onto four seats, losing two to the Conservatives and one to the NDP. The NDP retained its Elmwood-Transcona riding.

The rest of Manitoba remained the same as four years ago with the southern ridings voting Conservative and the north remaining NDP.

In Atlantic Canada, where the Liberals swept in 2015, the party held onto all but six seats, losing St. John’s-East to the NDP and West Nova, Fundy Royal, New Brunswick-Southwest and Tobique to the Conservatives. The Green party surprised many as Jenica Atwin took Fredricton.


The Block Québecois picked up many seats in Quebec they missed out on in 2015, calling it a major success. Ontario, which was nearly all Liberal, saw a large swing, as most of Southern Ontario voted Conservative, and the Northern areas of the province voted NDP.

The unofficial results saw the Liberals win a minority government with 156 seats down from their majority of 184.

The Conservatives hold the opposition with 121 seats up from 99. The Bloc Québecois won 32 seats while the NDP lost almost half its seats and sit with 25.

The Green Party tripled their total with 3 seats.

The People’s Party of Canada didn’t win any seats while Jody Wilson-Raybould kept her Vancouver-Granville seat as an independent.